Allotment Andersons

I thought I’d better make a quick blog post as its been a while. I got to spend my morning looking at Anderson shelters in a Sheffield allotment, with Drink Wise Age Well-Sheffield & LEAF Sheffield.

DSC00774

There are a total of two almost complete shelters and the remaining sections of at least two more!

DSC00796

We found the original makers marks still painted on the interior of one of the shelters and I even got to check if my Grandad’s Anderson Shelter spanner fitted the original bolts (which it did!)

DSC00779

DSC00793

I was also shown a post-war .303 bandoleer ammunition box that was used to store tools.

DSC00799

Overall a very good day. I’m looking into working with the two groups to record the shelters and look in further detail at the construction methods employed.

Leave a Reply

